Why I am never getting a tattoo

This has been long in my mind, but it really only crystallized during Christmas dinner with my family. My cousin and her husband (who I did not think were so conservative) were completely taken aback by my admission that I had no problem with tattoos, and I would not be averse of having one done. I never thought anyone at their age (40s) had any problems with tattoos any more; I thought it was only old ladies nowadays. I was wrong. Regardless I told them that most likely I’ll never have a tattoo done.

It’s not that I’m against the ink. In fact I find tattoos -if done well- really good. (Let’s forget about the names of your “one true love”, silly dragons, facial tattoos and the horrible photo-tattoos for a moment here.) It’s just my culture is conspiring against me. I think a tattoo should be more than just a pretty pattern on your skin. It should mean something since you are marking yourself for good. So it should tell something about your past (personal or cultural), or make a statement about your person. To get a tattoo because it “looks cool” is just silly in my opinion (which, admittedly, does not amount much). I hastily add: this is only a personal opinion- these are the reasons I feel I can/should get inked. What others do is their own decision, and I don’t think my opinion is valid for their case.

Anyhow. Cultural ties. This is where I’m shot by the place of my birth.

Let’s face it: if you’re, let’s say, of Celtic descent, you can have some awesome Celtic motifs. (Let’s not even talk about Maoris, shall we?)

13361097-celtic-motifs-stock-vector-celtic-motif-knot

Seriously, they are wicked. If your ancestry has Celtic blood in it you can wear these proudly and with a meaning. A tattoo, for me, should always be more than just a pretty design as I said. It should mean something; and for this reason I cannot possibly put Celtic stuff on my skin and be still have street cred. I might as well put a Chinese symbol on without know what that symbol actually means. (As many people apparently do.) I feel like I should be putting something on that connects me with my roots.

Unfortunately that something looks like this.

embrodiery-kati-1

Don’t get me wrong; it’s pretty, it has a lot of history, and can look really good on modern pieces of clothing. For women. In this respect, the rest of them are not much better, either

Let’s face it: it’s not very masculine; hardly something for which the guys in the gym would look at me in awe.

4 comments
  1. I have 29 tattoos (and counting) every single one has a meaning or story. However I think people should feel free to adorn their skin with something beautiful or cool just because they want to. It’s an expression. It’s a way of saying this is who I am without verbally saying anything. M favourite thing about my tattoos is seeing people judge me because of them only to realise, upon getting to know me, that I won’t murder them for their wallets haha. Nice post 😉

    • Yeah, I hoped I made it absolutely clear I’m not judging anyone else; these are only my rules for my skin only. Everyone has their own rules to put whatever they wish onto or into their bodies without me judging. (OK, the photo-tattoos I can- and do- judge. They are awful.)
      I do have one tattoo in mind, though: this one http://nptel.ac.in/courses/102103015/module9/lec2/images/2.png, since I am a virologist. But other than this I’m absolutely out of ideas 🙂

      • Wow that’s a great idea for a tattoo. You should look up an artist called Xoil. He resides in France

      • Cool 🙂 Will do. Thank you for the suggestion

Leave a Reply

