Between the boundary of sleep and wakefulness

I’ve been having some trouble with sciatica lately, so sleep (among other things) has been a bit difficult. The best position I’ve found so far is laying on my tummy with a pillow under the hip (to support the lumbar part of the spine).
It still makes sleeping difficult because it does tense the back and neck muscles, and I still feel pain. This position also makes me snore.

I’ve been having a strange experience lately: I’m laying there, dozing off, but thinking I’m awake (and also breathing quietly, conscious of the constant complaints about the loud snores), when suddenly I get a kick, and some muttering of “stop snoring for god’s sake”.

Apparently you can believe you’re fully awake, while snoring away happily. Surreal.

Leave a Reply

